Tag: Dream Theater

June 7 2013

I’ve been slowly working on this Dream Theater project for several years. It takes one track from each album and blends them together into a single album. If you’ve never really heard of Dream Theater, then this is the best way I know how to introduce you. And if you’re already a fan, then this should sufficiently melt your face.

June 16 2007

Here’s a project I have spent quite some time working on, but not nearly as much time as Dream Theater spent creating the music that went into it. This is a complete album of the nearly two decades of DT’s career. It starts with an intro that includes all of their albums, ends with an outro that includes all of their albums, and has one representative track from each album in between.

This is the updated version that includes a track from their newest album, Systematic Chaos. The entire track list is as follows:

  1. (intro)
  2. The Ytse Jam
  3. Learning to Live
  4. Scarred
  5. Burning My Soul
  6. Beyond This Life
  7. Blind Faith
  8. Endless Sacrifice
  9. Never Enough
  10. The Ministry of Lost Souls
  11. The Count of Tuscany
  12. Breaking All Illusions
  13. Illumination Theory
  14. (outro)

I would recommend you listening to this all at once, if you can. There are no track breaks because it’s supposed to represent the typical length of a musical piece by Dream Theater. If you find that you love it and absolutely must have a copy in CD form, let me know. I have to burn special copies because of the tracks.

June 15 2007

This is a suite of four songs that I mixed together after I realized that they are parts of a larger body of work that Dream Theater is actively working on. Each song is from a different album and will likely be performed as a single piece of music once they have put it all together. The drummer and one of the main creative minds of the band, Mike Portnoy, has created this suite as an homage to the twelve step program from Alcoholic’s Anonymous. Each section is titled after a step in the program.

I’m only uploading this because there is no mixed version, and I would encourage you to get the albums if you liked them. Then again, if you do know about this suite, chances are you already have the albums.

November 12 1999

This is a piece that I mixed together when I first discovered Cool Edit Pro (which is now called Adobe Audition). It’s a wacky remix/homage/compilation thing that is made of the intense and instrumental moments from Dream Theater’s first few albums. I would like to make another one, but there are twice as many albums and about three times as much music to use now. The thought of doing that is daunting, so I’m leaving this mostly out of posterity.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff6600&auto_play=false&show_artwork=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]